jump to navigation

My Sassy Girl – Review July 6, 2009

Posted by Cello in Movie Reviews.
trackback

mysassygirl

I can definetely say that this is the first movie I have seen only because I needed reviewing material for this website. I had no interest in watching My Sassy Girl even though I heard so many good things about it. When I sat down to watch it, my groans turned into smiles and I knew I was in for quite a treat. The Korean film My Sassy Girl is a cute and silly romantic comedy that never seems to lose its edge.  This movie worked because it was easy to relate to and was grounded on Asian culture. I wouldn’t normally review a romantic comedy, but I repeatedly found myself laughing out loud from this flick.

Gyeon-woo is a single Korean college student, still not very sure of what he wants to become in the future. One night, on his way back home, he meets an extremely beautiful girl, but who is also completely drunk. He knows that she is not really his type, but a relationship forms nevertheless as he is unable to ignore her. She speaks her mind, and generally embarrasses him when they are out in public. Some might wonder why he puts up with her, but I can vouch for the reality of the situation. And so their relationship begins, which is an adventure of romance and fun. The basic motivation of this story seems pretty dry, but there is plenty in the movie that really help it stand out. People who watch this movie’s trailer with the scenes from the guy’s imagination will be disappointed if they expected a lot of action from this film. There is a scene involving a lot of soldiers that seems to be somewhat contrived. The movie is kind of schizophrenic, but this may be intentional to represent the girl’s state of mind.

mysassygirl2

Also, that the humor was always right on time, not trying stupid sex jokes or stupid humor, unlike other movie of its genre right now. Although it’s a notch above other romantic comedies [the few that I have watched], the story doesn’t unfold conventionally. It also gets melodramatic towards the end but strangely enough I actually appreciated the change in pace. Eventually, the sassy girl’s behavior is explained by the end of the film. Minor gripes aside, My Sassy Girl covers a lot of territory in its two-hour running time, containing enough material for at least two movies.

I’ve heard good things about My Sassy Girl, but never realized it was that good. It’s a very special romantic comedy and whether you enjoy chick-flicks or not, this film is going to make you laugh, cry, and most importantly, smile. I loved the movie, and for most of you out there, it should be a very good entertainment. It is funny, yet with a not-too-sweet-but-still-touching love twist.
mysassygirating

Comments»

1. sinema izle - July 6, 2009

Looks like a good movie

2. unclecritic - July 7, 2009

This is one of the most depressing movies I’ve ever seen, but it’s great.

3. Heather - July 7, 2009

There was something even delicate and a different enthusiasm about this review that has me compelled to see this one. I feel strangely drawn to it now.

4. goregirl - July 7, 2009

I’m definitely NOT a fan of the romantic comedy, but Foreign film makers seem to have a much better grasp on the concept. I seen a trailer for this film recently and actually thought it looked intriguing. Your enthusiastic endorsement sold me on giving it a chance.

5. Robert - September 4, 2009

Although a romantic comedy in name, My Sassy Girl is also a grab bag of unexpected twists, styles, and themes. Definitely not your average date movie. I haven’t seen the remakes but I have to assume they’re not as good.

I linked to this review on a timeline of Korean cinema I’ve been putting together. It’s not, by any means, exhaustive yet, but this is one of the first movies I thought of to put on there:

http://timelines.com/topics/korean-cinema

6. imyideas - October 29, 2009

It is one of the best film i have ever seen in my life. I became a fan of koeran films after watching this film. A wonderful romantic comedy film

7. Stephen K - December 2, 2009

I *finally* got around to watching this today. Like yourself, purely because my friends from HK and Singapore had gone on about, and its massive popularity, I resisted watching it, but I actually found it quite wonderful. It definitely is a romcom, but I found that it was quirky enough to make it not totally a film for ladies! I’m sure the remake will probably not do it justice, so now I have a new ‘Sassy Girl’ to avoid watching! Great review as always, I had a feeling you’d have reviewed this 😛

8. Me - December 17, 2009

You guys are almost a decade late..good thing the movie is a classic. Love ji-hyun! She nailed it! Hollywood version sucks big time!

9. sinema - December 19, 2009

i like this movie

10. divx film izle - January 10, 2010

There was something even delicate and a different enthusiasm about this review that has me compelled to see this one

11. mseyit - January 18, 2010

i like this movie

12. memnune and elif and tuğba - January 22, 2010

süper bir filmmm…herkese tavsiye ederizzzz

13. wansai - January 26, 2010

Like me, the reviewer watched this movie very late. Although I like romantic comedy, I was completely uninterested about My Sassy Girl. I heard many great things about it but I just attributed it to sheer hype and group-concensus thingee. My friend (A GUY) literally forced me to watch it!

By the end of the movie, My Sassy Girl became my favorite romantic comedy of all time. It became one of my favorite films!

It was silly, funny, innocent, tragic, abusive, lonely and desperate. Most of all, it gave me that longing feeling. I was so emotionally moved by how subtle, symbolic and important everything was in the film.

The American adaptation was horrid. Even as a stand alone romcom it was poor; much less doing any real justice to the spirit of the original. I just felt that so much of the important parts that made My Sassy Girl such a compelling piece was completely mis-understood and/or omitted in the American adaptation.


Leave a Reply

