jump to navigation

Vampire Girl vs. Frankenstein Girl – Review August 14, 2009

Posted by Cello in Movie Reviews.
trackback

Vampire Girl vs Frankenstein Girl

Japan’s genre filmmaking scene has undergone a strange transformation over the years. Vampire Girl vs. Frankenstein Girl is a movie made by people that just love making movies. They make them their way and play by their own rules, and it comes across in every frame. If you’re looking for splatter, this film delivers and with more style than many other movies with the same goal.

In Japan, girls give chocolate to boys they like on Valentine’s Day, but one teacher at Tokyo Public High School spoils all the fun by taking away all non-academic materials. The plot is goofy, yet endearing, as sweet young vampire Monami falls for Mizushima. Unfortunately, Mizushima is already dating Keiko, the borderline psychopathic daughter of the school’s wimpy vice principal. Despite his reluctance, she insists they be a couple, but this gets complicated once transfer student Monami comes into play. She gives Mizushima a chocolate in secret, filled with her blood. That would normally be off-putting, but Monami is a vampire. She wants to fully turn Mizushima and live with him as a vampire couple forever! Keiko doesn’t like this one bit, and once she discovers her father’s Frankenstein lab in the school’s basement, it isn’t long before his patchwork madness sets off the showdown of the century.

Vampire Girl vs Frankenstein Girl2

Vampire Girl vs. Frankenstein Girl takes pleasure in this absurdity throughout, with tons of tasteless humor and a score comprised almost entirely of 60s go-go music. It features a supporting cast including a championship wrist-cutting team, a ganguro gang of latex sporting afro-wannabes, lecherous teachers, oversexed nurses and a hunchback janitor. It’s all quite disturbing. Director Nishimura is essentially the Tyler Durden of filmmakers.  He’s the guy up in the projection booth inserting frames of penises in the film just for his own amusement, only, instead of using subliminal frames, he focuses on the penis for several minutes at a time and then people tell him he’s brilliant.  He loves to offend.

The film stars Eihi Shiina who shot to international attention after appearing in Takashi Miike’s Audition and also starred in Tokyo Gore Police. The acting is well enough but the absurdity on screen will definetely take your focus away from it. Now if you have thick skin, a strong stomach, and an ‘I don’t care’ attitude, then this film will be a blast for you.
vampirating

Comments»

1. hagiblog - August 14, 2009

Aww see, you went and beat me to a review! HAHA! I’m off to watch this one on Monday actually and can’t wait. The skinless skull is calling me! Good to know that it’s following in the gory footsteps of the films that have come before it.

Cello - August 14, 2009

If I wasn’t one upping you, I wouldn’t be doing my job lol 😛 Beware Will, this film is very hard to review, and it’s probably one of my shortest reviews because I was honestly left speechless on alot of the films content. Let me know if you like it. Enjoy the festival!

hagiblog - August 14, 2009

Oh, I know I’m gonna love this one. I just watched the trailer again last night and I must’ve missed some of it before because what I saw was even better than I remembered.

I’m sure I’ll find plenty to say about this one but it will probably be along the lines of ‘splat, squish, squirt, slice, dice, spray’! HAHA!

2. animekritik - August 14, 2009

hmm, beavis and butthead would have loved this.

3. goregirl - August 14, 2009

Tasteless…that word isn’t even in my vocabulary! Well, unless we’re talking about food. Sounds like outrageous fun! I cannot wait to see this one!!!!!!!

4. Heather - August 14, 2009

I’m so glad you liked it, because I really want to see it. It seems utterly insane and I love it!!!!!!!!!!!

5. bambybam - August 16, 2009

Thanks for visiting my blog! Didn’t manage to catch Vampire, but will do now. Yeah!!


Leave a Reply

