jump to navigation

The Girl Who Leapt Through Time – Review August 19, 2009

Posted by Cello in Anime Reviews.
trackback

thegirlwholeptthroughtime

A reader of the site left a comment on one of my entries a few months back informing me that The Girl Who Leapt Through Time was his favorite anime film ever. I hadn’t seen the film and was very anxious to view a film someone touted as being their favorite. I then learned that it was the winner of “Animation of the Year” at the 30th Annual Japanese Academy Awards. Needless to say, I scooped this film up immediately and gave it a watch. I found the characters to be entirely credible and likable, and the simply drawn figures were highly effective against the lush background artwork.

While riding her bike in town one day, the brakes on her bicycle fail to do their job at the last minute and she gets hit by a train. Much to her awe and confusion, she opens her eyes to find herself a minute before the accident happens, safe and sound. She comes to find out she has the ability to manipulate time. Like any seventeen year old she sets about changing important things, like improving her grades, preventing accidents and ensuring that her little sister doesn’t eat her pudding. But she soon realises that her actions have consequences and that changing the past is not a simple as it first seems.

thegirlwholeptthroughtime2

She quickly finds that the more she tries to make things better, the worse they become and regrets having used her powers. The twist towards the end of the movie really drives the point home for her. The movie’s music is low-key and simple, helping set up that whole “slice of life” feeling. But, during a key point in the movie, one particular composition was able to effectively express desperation in the most emotionally charged way possible, adding poignancy to the scene’s dramatic outcome. If you’re an anime buff, sci-fi geek, or just want something a little unconventional with engaging and interesting concepts, this is a great choice.

I love blood and guts as much as the next guy, but I also love friendly and light-hearted anime and The Girl Who Leapt Through Time is a wholesome tale.  However, while the movie verges toward both science fiction and romance, there’s a darker strain that runs throughout and creates a somber, decidedly adult tone. The movie leaves itself open for several possible endings, but the path it chooses doesn’t quite jive with the rest of the film. It feels slapped together at the end and it will probably leave you scratching your head with unanswered questions. Still, this is a wonderful, engaging film that deserved a slot in my library, as should yours.
thegirating

Comments»

1. hagiblog - August 19, 2009

I’m sure I’ve heard of this one before but you’ve put it back on my radar. I’ll be keeping an eye open for this one. Sounds like the kind of thing I’d be down for watching and something my girlfriend would also enjoy. That and she keeps saying she has the urge to see some anime lately! HAHA!

2. Phear - August 19, 2009

I’ve constantly heard good things about this but just haven’t got around to grabbing it, and watching it yet. I guess I’ll have to move it up a little more on my list?

3. Akiraman - August 21, 2009

I love this anime best anime film I have seen in a while 🙂 The new movie by the same director is “Summer Wars” which has similar themes to tokikake

4. Rojin - August 30, 2009

It’s one of the best films I’ve seen yet in anime!

5. glothelegend - September 11, 2009

The Girl Who Leapt Through Time is my favorite anime film ever. I thought that the music really brought it all together. You’re right, it was very simple music, and I feel like that’s what it needed to become a great film. I would’ve given it an A+ myself, but a B is nothing to scoff at. I’m glad you liked it.

6. Yi - September 19, 2009

The ending worked very well for me. In fact, the ending was what pushed this already great movie to amazing.

7. mseyit - January 18, 2010

i like this movie


Leave a Reply

