jump to navigation

Bleach Movie 2: The DiamondDust Rebellion – Review September 8, 2009

Posted by Cello in Anime Reviews.
trackback

bleach

The movie opens with a progress straight out of the Jidai Matsuri which is a company of the King’s retainers are transporting his seal, and the 10th squad has been assigned to provide security. One of the most interesting things for me about the movie was that it did involve the King of Soul Society. Bleach: The Diamond Dust Rebellion, is a beautifully animated anime that takes the ice-slinging child genius into an encounter with his own past. For those keeping track at home, this is film number 2 in the series and the only one that I actually like. So I’ll skip the first and move right along into this review.

While the King’s Seal is being transported, the procession is attacked and robbed  and Hitsugaya unexpectedly takes off. Meanwhile, Ichigo shelters an exhausted, badly-injured Hitsugaya,  only to have the boy-captain run away after one night, after muttering something about Kusaka.  His friends start sniffing around for evidence of this Kusaka, while the wounded Hitsugaya is tottering around Karakura — and an execution order has been put on his head. Meanwhile, a rogue Hitsugaya searches for the perpetrators and uncovers a dark secret regarding a long dead shinigami. If none of this makes any sense to you, you are either unfamiliar with the show or you are not far enough along in the series to watch this movie. I have this appreciation for Bleach and tend to like Ichigo a lot, I was a bit disappointed in the first movie but this time around they did a great job.

bleach2

Even though I’m bought and own the series, the movies had never been top priorities on the “buy” list and it looks like this will continue with movie 2. Although there is alot to like here, its a crime that such a great series keeps getting lackluster movie releases. From here on, the movie is mostly consists talking, but at least it’s not boring as we see Soul Society’s very own Captain Kyoraku and Captain Ukitake later on! Just about everyone who is involved with Soul Society’s politics are in deep discussions about why Hitsugaya abandoned his squad. Out of the many filler series in Japan, Bleach is one of those anime/manga which is nice to watch. I enjoyed this movie much not because I am a Bleach fan; but as a fan of anime in general. It’s nice to see that about 60% of the movie focus on Toshiro and reveals his past when he was a cadet.

A major strength of this movie is that it focuses on existing characters instead of spending substantial time developing movie-only characters. If I could guess, I’d say if you are past episodes 150-151 you can go ahead and watch this film.  For those who are much furthur along, and this being the 2007 theater edition of Bleach, it’s also a good thing that you watch this in a past manner. What i’m trying to say is, you’re bound to be a little bit unsurprised to know that some of the surprise in this movie is already known within the previous episode of the tv series. I can’t recommend this movie if you aren’t a Bleach fan, obviously, however if you are a fan of the series this is a must watch.
bleachreview

Comments»

1. Phear - September 9, 2009

I love the series, and I was pretty happy with this movie. Like you said, I loved the fact that it didn’t spend as much time as the first film [Memories of Nobody] trying to pitch the importance of movie-only characters.

Cello - September 9, 2009

Yeah, which is precisely why I didn’t bother reviewing that film…maybe when there comes a day I have nothing to review I might pop it in again and watch it. But I think you and me at least see eye to eye on this film!

2. miz - September 14, 2009

I though that this movie was very much like a television movie, so while I am semi- out of Bleach at the moment, this had really nice visuals with Hitsugaya’s fighting moves.

3. Hikaru Kazushime - September 18, 2009

I watched the movie around the right time in my opinion, which is not too long after they go to Hueco Mundo. I believe the movie focuses on the time period just before Ulquiorra kidnaps Inoue, when Ichigo has finally become a Vizard, as well as Chad and Uryu finally gaining more powerful abilities.

I loved the movie, and liked it a lot better than the first. I would like to see the quality of the Bleach movies further increase as more come out. I was extremely happy with the final fight scene where the majority of the main characters are involved. It also brings about many new feelings about Hitsugaya’s character after one has seen this movie.
Nice review! But I’d say it was at least worth a B.

____
You recently commented on my blog requesting a link exchange, I’ve added the button you left me, and you’re on my associate blogroll now. 🙂

Here’s my button:

and my site is:

http://www.runaroundkazu.blogspot.com

Thanks!
-Kazu


Leave a Reply

