jump to navigation

Fullmetal Alchemist: The Conqueror of Shambala – Review November 13, 2009

Posted by Cello in Anime Reviews.
trackback

fullmetal

I should note that you should probably be familiar with the series before reading this review or watching this said film. Picking up after Ed and Al’s separation in the final episode of the original series, we’re given a glimpse of Ed’s new life on Earth. At the end of the series, 4 Homunculi had been killed with one being sent through the Gate. Al had been restored to his body with his memory wiped out and Ed was in our world circa the 1920’s in Munich, Germany. In this film, Ed rescues a gypsy named Noah who has mind-reading abilities. It also turns out she’s being hunted by the Thule Society who wants to reach the world Shamballa. Hence, the films title, Fullmetal Alchemist: The Conqueror of Shamballa. At the beginning of this movie, I was a little wondering that why Alphonse maintain his armour form. Then as the story went on, I knew that this movie was shown in flashback. I love this kind of method, it made us recalled something old in TV series and led us into an all-new adventure.

All the charm and wonder of the series is here in this film. All the voice actors from the english reversioning of the series were brought back to voice their characters for the movie. Most of the viewers of the series probably thought that the world of Fullmetal Alchemist had nothing to do with our world, that it was a completely alternate universe, wrong! The two sides are connected in the same way as the past and future, and the gate is some sort of gap between the two. I don’t want to harp on this point too much as I would want you to revisit this film (preferbly on blu-ray) and try to grasp this concept on your own.  And is this story, Ed is forced to abandon alchemy because it doesn’t work on that side of the gate.

fullmetal2

That said, I love the anime and decided to watch this movie to give me the resolution I needed after the final episode. I must admit, it doesn’t have the perfectly wrapped happy ending that I hoped for. The plot is good, but I really think that it could have used more time. The movie moves along fairly quickly, putting all of the pieces in place for the conclusion, but not going into great detail. What they did was well executed, but somewhat rushed and thus shallow. One thing I really like about this movie is the inclusion of real world history in the world Ed has gone to. It’s nice to add some real history and thread our loved characters into it.

This was a great film and it provided a sense of closure to the amazing series Fullmetal Alchemist. I loved the series and felt that the movie did a really great job of tying up all the loose ends. To my reader who are abit in the dark, if you set aside some free time you should watch the Fullmetal Alchemist series as it is one of the better series out there.  While it’s true there are some areas of the movie which lack and should have contained more, and the main villian was a little on the flaky side, overall I found it to be the perfect ending for the series. Some fans are unhappy that the imagined relationship between Ed and Winry was never to happen. Tough luck I say, as the series was never about that fluff to begin with. This film gets a high recommendation from me easily.
fullmetalrating

Comments»

1. cinematronica - November 13, 2009

Why do all these anime movies based on TV shows end up feeling so rushed? I hate that feeling! It’s not even worth it unless they make it feel seamless and fun. Other than that, though, this was a good movie, and it’s refreshing to know that someone else saw it…

2. gaguri - November 14, 2009

It’s been such a long time since I watched FMA the movie. But I do remember not being terribly impressed by it.

As for the series, there is currently a new animated series airing right now which is based more on the on going manga (since the first anime series deviated from manga when it caught up). There is a difference in opinions on which one’s better, so people should check that out too and choose which series they want to follow (although from what I hear, manga is far the best way to enjoy FMA franchise).

3. glothelegend - November 16, 2009

Hmmm….I feel like I got no closure from this film. I’m not going to say it’s bad because it surly wasn’t. Maybe I just wasn’t satisfied with the end……(I just felt bad for Winry).

That being said, I still had the old anime in my top ten best anime ever. But the new anime is ten times better, and will effectively supplant the former when the latter reaches it’s conclusion.


Leave a Reply

